Rapid Bucharest sign Catalin Cirjan on loan from Arsenal with option to buy

Rapid Bucharest have signed Arsenal midfielder Catalin Cirjan on loan with an option to buy.

The 20-year-old midfielder, who signed for Arsenal in 2019, endured much misfortune with injury before returning to action last season.

Romanian youngster Cirjan has returned to his homeland as he looks to test himself in senior football.

Last season he was on the bench for the Arsenal first-team for four Europa League games.

Cirjan told Rapid Bucharest’s official website: ‘It was a long awaited transfer for me. If it was up to me I would have signed it in the first minute but I’m glad I’m here now.

‘The first thing that motivated me to come to Rapid was the game I played against Rapid in the Romanian Cup when I was 14. The atmosphere in the stands, the Rapid fans were extraordinary.

‘I’m feeling very good. Last season was a very good one. I am 100 per cent ready and excited to show what I can do on the field.’

Cirjan has played 36 times for Arsenal at U21 level having previously represented the U18s on 25 occasions.

Leave a comment