Reiss Nelson amongst 14 youngsters included in Arsenal’s Europa League squad


Arsenal have submitted their squad for the group stages of the Europa League, with Reiss Nelson amongst several youngsters included.

Krystian Bielik, Eddie Nketiah, Josh Dasilva, Joe Willock, Marcus McGuane, Charlie Gilmour, Ben Sheaf, Tafari Moore, Chiori Johnson, Hugo Keto, Tolaji Bola, Aaron Eyoma and Ryan Huddart are also named.

Summer signings Alexandre Lacazette and Sead Kolašinac are both named in the squad.

As was the case with Arsenal’s Premier League squad, injured midfielder Santi Cazorla is left out, with goalkeepers Matt Macey and Deyan Iliev, who are still members of the U23 squad, being included on the senior list.

Jordi Osei-Tutu, Gedion Zelalem, Emile Smith Rowe, Nathan Tormey, João Virgínia, Vlad Dragomir, Julio Pleguezuelo and Yassin Fortune aren’t included despite having professional contracts.

Alex Crean and Zech Medley aren’t yet eligible for inclusion as they haven’t been at the club for two whole seasons.

None of the players on loan or on scholarship deals have been included.

Clubs must include at least eight homegrown players in their squad, with Arsenal naming eleven.

Seven of those – Aaron Ramsey, Jack Wilshere, Theo Walcott, Hector Bellerin, Chuba Akpom, Francis Coquelin and Iliev – are club trained, while Rob Holding, Calum Chambers, Danny Welbeck and Macey are association trained.

Arsenal Europa League squad:

2. Mathieu Debuchy, 4. Per Mertesacker, 6. Laurent Koscielny, 7. Alexis Sánchez, 8. Aaron Ramsey, 9. Alexandre Lacazette, 10. Jack Wilshere, 11. Mesut Özil, 12. Olivier Giroud, 13. David Ospina, 14. Theo Walcott, 16. Rob Holding, 17. Alex Iwobi*, 18. Nacho Monreal, 20. Shkodran Mustafi, 21. Calum Chambers, 22. Jeff Reine-Adélaïde*, 23. Danny Welbeck, 24. Héctor Bellerín, 29. Granit Xhaka, 30. Ainsley Maitland-Niles*, 31. Sead Kolašinac, 32. Chuba Akpom, 33. Petr Čech, 34. Francis Coquelin, 35. Mohamed Elneny, 37. Krystian Bielik*, 39. Tolaji Bola*, 43. Josh Dasilva*,  45. Aaron Eyoma*, 47. Charlie Gilmour*, 49. Ryan Huddart*, 50. Deyan Iliev, 51. Chiori Johnson*, 53. Hugo Keto*, 54. Matt Macey, 58. Marcus McGuane*, 59. Tafari Moore*, 61. Reiss Nelson*, 62. Eddie Nketiah*, 65. Ben Sheaf*, 69. Joe Willock*.

*= B-List





  1. Hmm any idea why Julio Pleguezuelo was left out? Being the U23 captain and perhaps the standout youth defensive prospect (especially with Bieliks shoulder injury), I’m very surprised that he was not included!

  2. JB – what’s ur opinion on those players that qualify for the Europa league, but have been left out? Injuries? No chance if playing? Or is there other reasons perhaps they do not qualify? Or limitations we are not aware of?

    1. It’s very strange but it’s interesting most of the youngsters included are those who have been developed at Arsenal from Hale End.

      On Thu, Sep 7, 2017 at 11:00 AM, Jeorge Bird's Arsenal Youth wrote:


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s