Smith Rowe amongst five youngsters in Arsenal’s Singapore squad but Akpom and Reine-Adelaide left out

Arsenal have named their squad for the trip to Singapore, with Emile Smith Rowe amongst five players from the U23 team to have been included.

The highly regarded midfielder has been impressive in pre-season so far and is joined in the squad by Jordi Osei-Tutu, Joe Willock, Eddie Nketiah and Reiss Nelson.

There are some notable omissions from the squad with striker Chuba Akpom, for instance, left out as he closes in on a permanent switch to Sint-Truiden, with whom he had a successful loan spell in the second half of last season.

Midfielder Jeff Reine-Adelaide has produced some encouraging displays in pre-season so far but has also been left out, with a loan move likely.

Carl Jenkinson and Joel Campbell likely to leave permanently after being left out but recent signing Matteo Guendouzi has been named.

Mesut Ozil, Mohamed Elneny and Alex Iwobi are back in the squad after their involvement at the World Cup, but Granit Xhaka, Danny Welbeck, David Ospina, Lucas Torreira, Nacho Monreal and Stephan Lichtsteiner are all still on holiday and Laurent Koscielny remains injured.

Goalkeeper Matt Macey has been training with the first-team but hasn’t been included for the trip, which will see Arsenal face Atletico Madrid and Paris Saint-Germain.

One comment

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s