Saka and Okoflex amongst 10 Arsenal youngsters given scholarships; six released

2018-01-17 19_26_49-Instagram photo taken by BukayoSaka _ INK361.png

Arsenal have made their decisions on their intake of first-year scholars for next season, with ten players being offered deals including talented winger Bukayo Saka.

Saka has been one of the standout performers for Arsenal at U18 level this season and has scored four goals in ten league appearances, while he has also provided two assists.

Exciting attacker Armstrong Okoflex, who has been capped by the Republic of Ireland at youth level, is also being retained along with goalkeepers Arthur Okonkwo and Tom Smith.

Midfielders Stan Flaherty and Joshua Martin, who featured for the U18s against Leicester City this season, have been offered deals, as have two more midfielders in Ben Cottrell and Alfie Matthews.

Another midfielder, Matthew Dennis, is also being kept on, with Ryan Alebiosu also set to extend his stay at the club.

Six players have been told that they are released, the majority of whom are defenders. David Agbontohoma, James Matthews, Ismail Diallo, Samuel Okoye-Ahaneku, Bertie Valler and Sam Elwood all fall into this category.

As is always the case, there is a possibility that some of the players who have been released could still be offered deals at a later stage, while those have been offered scholarships may decide to move elsewhere.

Miguel Azeez, Yunus Musah and Hubert Graczyk, who have been called up to the U18 squad this season, will all still be schoolboys next campaign.

One comment

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s