Bennacer: I want to go on loan again, I can’t afford to play for the U23s


2017-05-19 22_34_20-Ismael Bennacer Photos Photos - Zimbio - Opera

Zimbio

Arsenal midfielder Ismael Bennacer has revealed that he intends to go on loan again next season, stating that he “can’t afford to play in the U23s”.

The 19-year-old has made a significant impact since joining Ligue 2 Tours in January and is open to the prospect of returning to France next season with a Ligue 1 team or alternatively playing in the Spanish top flight.

Bennacer told Onze Mondial: “I have not decided yet. I have an appointment with Arsene Wenger to make an assessment with him.

“I, in my head, would like to be lent another year to continue gaining playing time.

“I am patient, but I also come to an important moment of my career. I can not afford to play in the U23s. If I can be lent a year in Ligue 1 or La Liga, that would be good for my progression.”

Bennacer, who joined Arsenal from Arles-Avignon in 2015, has made one first-team appearance for the Gunners. He has also been capped by Algeria at senior level.

One comment

  1. It will be interesting to see how many players are sent on loan, and how many are kept to bulk up our Europa and League Cup squads.
    While it will be nice for Bennacer to get a La Liga or Ligue 1 move, it is more important to get him a team where he will play. And if no-one can guarantee that then the U-23s will be best for him.

Leave a Reply

