Zelalem and Maitland-Niles left out of Arsenal’s 40-player Youth League squad

Image: Telegraph

Arsenal have submitted their UEFA Youth League squad for the group stages of the competition, with the club deciding not to include Gedion Zelalem, Ainsley Maitland-Niles, Ismael Bennacer and Tyrell Robinson as overage players.

Instead Chiori Johnson, Marc Bola and Aaron Eyoma have been named as the three overage players, while schoolboys Trae Coyle, Arthur Okonkwo, Mark McGuinness, Xavier Amaechi and Vonte Daley-Campbell also make the cut.

There are some more experienced players included, with Jeff Reine-Adelaide, Krystian Bielik and Chris Willock all named.

All of the club’s new scholars are eligible for the competition. U23 goalkeepers Matt Macey and Deyan Iliev are over the age limit for the UEFA Youth League.

Possible strongest team


Johnson-Bielik-Da Graca-M. Bola


Nelson-Reine Adelaide-C. Willock


Subs: Virginia, T. Bola, Pileas, Malen, Eyoma, Hinds, Dragomir.

Other eligible players: Okonkwo, McGuinness, Daley-Campbell, Thompson, Olowu, Ballard, Omole, Osei-Tutu, Tella, Smith-Rowe, Mourgos, DaSilva, Gilmour, Burton, Benson, Tormey, Beckford, Amaechi, Coyle, J. Willock, Fortune, Nketiah. 


One comment

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s