Virginia the hero as Arsenal U17s win Future Cup after beating Anderlecht and Barcelona


Arsenal U17s have won the ABN AMRO Future Cup after prevailing past both Anderlecht and Barcelona on penalties.

The young Gunners progressed through the group stages with victories over Red Bull Salzburg, Right to Dream and hosts Ajax, which set up a semi-final showdown with Barcelona.

Edward Nketiah had a goal disallowed against the Spanish side, with the game going to penalties and Arsenal eventually prevailing 4-2 on spot kicks.

Josh Benson missed with his effort, but Nketiah, Vlad Dragomir, Joe Willock and Nathan Tormey all scored and goalkeeper Joao Virginia saved two penalties to send Arsenal through to the Final.

The game against Anderlecht was a hard-fought encounter and also went down to a shootout after neither side was able to find the net. Virginia, who enjoyed an excellent tournament, was the hero again as he saved three penalties before Emile Smith-Rowe converted the decisive spot kick to give Arsenal glory.

Arsenal Future Cup squad: Virginia, Benson, Tella, Omole, Dragomir, Nketiah, J. Willock, Tormey, Amaechi, McGuinness, Olayinka, Burton, Olowu, Smith-Rowe, Coyle, Barden, Thompson, Beckford.




Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s