Reiss Nelson amongst 13 schoolboys in Arsenal’s UEFA Youth League squad

Arsenal have submitted their list of eligible players for their upcoming UEFA Youth League campaign, with 13 schoolboys included, several of whom are yet to feature for the club at U18 level.

The list is comprised of 39 players in total, with Gedion Zelalem, Julio Pleguezuelo, Alex Iwobi, Ainsley Maitland-Niles, Stefan O’Connor and Dan Crowley some of the more recognisable names that have been included.

Nelson recently made his England U16 debut at the age of 14

Nelson recently made his England U16 debut at the age of 14

Notably the four new foreign signings- Hugo Keto, Kristopher Da Graca, Ilias Chatzitheodoridis and Savvas Mourgos- have also been included, suggesting that their respective registrations have been received and they are now eligible to play for the club.

As far as the schoolboys are concerned, the youngest player in the squad is 14 year old Reiss Nelson, an attack-minded England U16 international who was born in December 1999.

Defender Kwai Marsh-Brown, midfielders Charlie Gilmour, Tyler Hayles, Rugare Musendo, Nathan Tella and striker Edward Nketiah are all included.

Jake Clarke-Salter, the Chelsea youngster, is listed in Arsenal’s squad, but that is believed to be an administrative error, with Aaron Eyoma included instead.

Arsenal will have to decide before each fixture which 20 of these players will be eligible for that particular game. Their campaign starts away to Borussia Dortmund next week.

Arsenal’s UEFA Youth League squad

2012 scholars

Alex Iwobi.

2013 scholars

Ryan Huddart, Julio Pleguezuelo, Tafari Moore, Stefan O’Connor, Elliot Wright, Renny Smith, Dan Crowley, Ainsley Maitland-Niles, Gedion Zelalem,

2014 scholars

Hugo Keto, Kristopher Da Graca, Ilias Chatzitheodoridis, Marc Bola, Jonatas Centeno, Chiori Johnson, Harry Donovan, George Dobson, Chris Willock, Ben Sheaf, Kaylen Hinds, Tyrell Robinson, Stephy Mavididi, Savvas Mourgos, Aaron Eyoma.

2015 scholars (potential)

Brad House, Tolaji Bola, Mich’el Parker, Kwai Marsh-Brown, Tyler Hayles, Owen Moore, Rugare Musendo, Marcus Tabi, Charlie Gilmour, Joshua Da Silva, Nathan Tella, Edward Nketiah, Joe Willock.

2016 scholars (potential)

Reiss Nelson.



Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s