Fonte scores for Portugal and Randall talks up loan spell

Posted on


fonteportugal22

Arsenal striker Rui Fonte scored the winner as Portugal U21′s beat Madeira 1-0. Fonte, who is currently on loan at Crystal Palace, turned in Fabio Coentrao’s header in the second-half.

Elsewhere, Gavin Hoyte played the whole game as England U19′s were held to a 0-0 draw by the Czech Republic at Walsall’s Banks’s stadium.  Hoyte was solid throughout and was Arsenal’s only representative in the fixture after captain Henri Lansbury pulled out at short notice through injury.

randall12

In other news, midfielder Mark Randall has been talking about the possibility of a loan spell. In an interview with Arsenal.com, he said “It’s good to know that Neil [Banfield] can trust me and he has given me a big responsibility being captain of his team, but I need to be looking to push on.”

Many criticised his performance during the goalless draw with Chelsea and, with first-team opportunities at Arsenal limited, a loan spell would be the obvious option.

Today he was linked with a temporary switch to Championship side Blackpool which could help him to get some more consistency in his game.

9 thoughts on “Fonte scores for Portugal and Randall talks up loan spell

    Icky said:
    March 26, 2009 at 6:52 pm

    I don’t know the kid from Adam, but what about this: I’d say he needs more confidence alongside consistency. Sure he comes off a bit arrogant, but that seems like a facade. I think the boy needs to move on somewhere that he’s appreciated. I get the feeling that playing for Arsenal is doing his head in b/c he’s rarely one of the best (or most showy/dominant) players on the pitch and he doesn’t seem to have the personality of someone who thrives in a role as a water carrier, to use Cantona’s phrase. He needs to be somewhere that he’s near the top of the hierarchy. At Arsenal he no longer is (if he ever was at 15, or whenever he joined the club). I wish him well. But I could be totally wrong.

    randall said:
    March 26, 2009 at 10:10 pm

    good news about randall if he does go on loan and fonte really seems like he is going to be a star

    Top Posts « WordPress.com said:
    March 27, 2009 at 12:39 am

    [...] Fonte scores for Portugal and Randall talks up loan spell Arsenal striker Rui Fonte scored the winner as Portugal U21’s beat Madeira 1-0. Fonte, who is currently on loan [...] [...]

    GunnerPete said:
    March 27, 2009 at 9:41 am

    After watching Randall very carefully this season I am glad he is on his way out on loan. He has a mental problem on the pitch and another club may iron this out. If they dont he will not make it in the Premiership. He has talent but not as much as he thinks he has.

    useroz said:
    March 27, 2009 at 10:12 am

    randall lack physical shape (not necessarily bulk), and does not seem assertive, confident, robust, strong, etc in MF, and his play looks too fancy at times… randall needs to learn to be effective and consistent quickly, or it’s another ‘english’ talent going nowhere at arsenal

    Ben said:
    March 27, 2009 at 2:12 pm

    Don’t think Randall is going on loan now. Deadline for loan deals for Football League was 5pm yesterday.

    I saw he was linked with Blackpool, but the Arsenal website haven’t announced him going on loan anywhere.

    Supergunner07 said:
    March 27, 2009 at 4:58 pm

    MR said AW didnt want him to go, Afobe & Freeman combo for U17s win

    barister jazzy said:
    November 20, 2009 at 12:14 am

    I am Alex Rembert from Australia. Some years back, i was so poor that my car was riding me and not me riding it. My case was so hopeless that nobody thought anything good could come from me, suddenly something happened, God blessed me through Mr. barister jazzy.
    When i saw an email in the internet, i contacted him for loan of $250,000 USD, he then send me an application form, i took it like a joke but reluctantly i filled the form thereafter he called me and we discussed on phone and the loan of $250,000 USD was sent to my account.
    I just want to use this medium to say a big thank you to Mr.barister jazzy and i pray God bless him and enlarge his firm. for he has changed my story to glory. I am now a brand new man that has nothing formally but with the help of Mr. barister jazzy i can stand up as a real man to take care of everything worth taking care of financially.
    You can reach him at baristerjazzy@yahoo.co.uk

      MARIA ROBERT said:
      November 20, 2009 at 12:25 am

      I am MARIA ROBERT from Australia too. Some years back, i was so poor that my car was riding me and not me riding it. My case was so hopeless that nobody thought anything good could come from me, suddenly something happened, God blessed me through Mr. barister jazzy.
      When i saw an email in the internet, i contacted him for loan of $250,000 USD, he then send me an application form, i took it like a joke but reluctantly i filled the form thereafter he called me and we discussed on phone and the loan of $250,000 USD was sent to my account.
      I just want to use this medium to say a big thank you to Mr.barister jazzy and i pray God bless him and enlarge his firm. for he has changed my story to glory. I am now a brand new man that has nothing formally but with the help of Mr. barister jazzy i can stand up as a real man to take care of everything worth taking care of financially.
      You can reach him at baristerjazzy@yahoo.co.uk

Leave a Reply

